Marc Simpson-Threlford

I'm from a family of artists and globe-trotters, my mother being a writer and my father, a sailor. Talented in observation drawing and mechanics, as a young teenager, I imagined myself becoming a naval architect or a robot engineer. Later I discovered that my real passion laid in filmmaking. So I completed a BFA at Concordia University and worked part-time at Panavision Montreal. I then worked for over seven years as an assistant cameraman.

Based in Montreal, I am now a cinematographer, and have been since 2002. I've photographed over a hundred projects: commercials, music videos, short and medium features, and in recent years three feature films. Because  of my passion for foreign cultures, I've been to Europe, Asia, Africa, Central America and the Caribbean.

My areas of expertise include both shooting on film and digital capture. I am also very aware of the post-production requirements for film, digital and web production. I have dual citizenship in Canada and the UK, and I speak French and English.

Marc Simpson-Threlford

Je suis issu d’une famille d’artistes et de globe-trotters, ayant une mère écrivain et un père marin. Doué pour le dessin d’observation et pour la mécanique, jeune adolescent, je m’imaginais architecte naval ou ingénieur en robotique. Plus tard, j'ai découvert que ma vraie passion était le cinéma. J’ai donc complété un baccalauréat en cinéma à l’université Concordia et me suis fait engager à mi-temps par Panavision Montréal, une maison de location d'équipement cinématographique. J'ai travaillé ensuite pendant plus de sept ans comme assistant à la caméra.

Établi à Montréal, je suis maintenant directeur photo depuis 2002. J’ai photographié plus d’une centaine de projets : pubs, vidéo clips, courts et moyens métrages et, récemment, trois longs métrages. Voyageur passionné de cultures étrangères, je me suis rendu en Europe, en Asie, en Afrique, en Amérique centrale et dans les Caraïbes. 

Mes champs de compétences comprennent aussi bien le film que la photo numérique. Je suis également très au fait des exigences de la postproduction film, vidéo et web. J’ai la double nationalité canadienne et britannique, et je parle français et anglais.